Impaired Driving

Breathalyze before you drive, one beer = 2 hours until sober

¿Habla español? Haga clic aquí.

Buy a Breathalyzer

To help reduce alcohol-related crashes and save lives in Colorado, CDOT and BACtrack® have partnered to encourage the use of personal breathalyzers. Alcohol affects everyone differently and your BAC can be affected by a variety of factors.

A breathalyzer is the best way to get an accurate BAC reading. Even one or two drinks can put you over the DWAI or DUI limit. Don't risk it; know your BAC is zero before you decide to drive.

Take Some Time

Many Coloradans may not realize the amount of time it takes to return to sobriety after consuming even a small amount of alcohol. In reality, the slightest amount can impair a person’s ability to drive. A single beer can stay in your system for up to two hours. 

CDOT’s Take Some Time campaign aims to raise awareness about the time it takes for a person’s blood-alcohol content (BAC) to return to zero after consuming alcohol. The campaign will use images of alcoholic beverages to show how long a given amount of alcohol can potentially stay in your system.

Even if your BAC is less than .05 percent (DWAI limit), you can still be charged with a DUI if you show signs of impairment. The only absolute way to ensure you are safe to drive is to have a BAC of zero. logo

This program is also supported by the Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility. The Foundation brings more than 25 years of leadership in the fight against drunken driving and underage drinking.

Previous Breathalyzer Campaigns

CDOT and BACtrack hosted the “Breathalyzer Brunch” at Spanky’s Roadhouse in Denver for media and 20 participants to share DUI-prevention messages and promote breathalyzer use.

CDOT, BACtrack and the Denver Police Department spoke and interacted with participates throughout brunch and supported participants as they learned how to use a BACtrack breathalyzer, tracked their consumption and discovered how drinking impacts their BAC levels.

Participants received a BACtrack breathalyzer (a $100 value) and were given Lyft ride credit for travel to and from event.

Watch this news clip from KDVR- Fox31 to see how the Breathalyzer Brunch worked.

CDOT and BACtrack provided Coloradans with an unprecedented 50% discount on personal breathalyzers. Between July and September, 2,866 Coloradans purchased discounted BACtrack breathalyzers.

CDOT’s Coloradans to Blow Before Driving campaign kicked off the discount with a “beer and yoga” event designed to get people thinking about using personal breathalyzers to understand their BACs at everyday drinking events.

Watch the video to see what happened at the yoga session!

In 2017, CDOT and BACtrack launched the Before You Go, Know campaign at a Sky Sox game in Colorado Springs. See what happened at the game!

In 2016, CDOT distributed 225 BACtrack Mobiles to Coloradans. After using the breathalyzers, 84% of participants agreed owning a smartphone breathalyzer lowered their risk for a DUI/DWAI.

Check out the video and see what participants had to say about using their BACtracks.


The CDOT Highway Safety Office provides funding to Colorado law enforcement for impaired driving enforcement, education and awareness campaigns. The Heat Is On campaign runs throughout the year, with 16 specific high-visibility impaired driving enforcement periods centered on national holidays and large public events. Enforcement periods can include sobriety checkpoints, saturation patrols and additional law enforcement on duty dedicated to impaired driving enforcement. Find more details about the campaign, including impaired driving enforcement plans, arrest totals and safety tips at

  • Even after only one or two drinks, some people may be close to or exceed Colorado’s DUI and DWAI limits.
    • 05 Percent BAC for DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired)
    • 08 Percent BAC for DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
  • Even if your BAC is less than 0.05 percent, you can still be arrested for a DUI if an officer notices signs of impairment. The only absolute way to ensure you are safe to drive is to have a BAC of zero.
  • When considering fines, legal fees and increased insurance costs, a DUI can add up to more than $13,500.

BAC Factors

  • When calculating your BAC, you may find your level of impairment increases or decreases based on these factors:
    • Number of standard drinks
    • How quickly you drink
    • Gender
    • Body weight
    • How much food you’ve eaten
    • Body type
    • Fatigue
    • Hydration

Whatever ride-sharing service you prefer, make sure to request a sober ride before driving impaired.

Lyft is a ride-sharing service that dispatches the nearest available driver to your current location based on your phone's GPS. Simply download the mobile app to request a ride with the tap of a button.

Wherever you're headed, with just the tap of a button, you can get a safe ride with Uber.