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Parent Article for newsletters 

Keeping Your Teen Safe in the Driver’s Seat

It’s the first day of school. You give your teen lunch money, make sure they have their books, tell them you love them and warn them that if they ditch a class, they’re in big trouble! But as you watch them drive off for their high school class, you just can’t seem to shake that nagging worry, “Is my child going to be safe driving today?” 

As your teenager makes his or her way back to school this year, consider these facts:  

· For 16 and 17-year-olds, carrying just one passenger increases the crash risk by about 50 percent.

· 16-year-old drivers are nearly three times more likely to be involved in a fatal crash than the average of all other drivers.

· Forty-eight 15-20 year-olds died on Colorado roadways in 2008. 

· Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for young people between ages 15 and 19.

While those statistics may sound discouraging, they help emphasize the critical role parents can play in keeping teens safe on our roadways.  Colorado’s Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law is designed to help teens gradually - and safely - build their skills and experience behind the wheel.  Since the law was passed in 1999, teen fatalities in Colorado continue to decline. The law places many restrictions on teens that limit the number of passengers, restrict nighttime driving and require seat belt use. The parents' job is to understand and help enforce the laws. Remind your child about the consequences of not following the law.  As a parent, you can also place restrictions on your child’s driving. You have the right to revoke your child’s license at any time, if you feel they are not driving safely and responsibly. Colorado’s GDL law is behind you.

It’s important to make the time to talk with your child about their responsibilities while in the driver’s seat. Tell them they should:

· Always wear a seat belt. It’s the law. Last year, more than 68% of the teens who died in crashes in Colorado were not buckled up. 
· Pay attention and don’t get distracted. One crash out of every six is caused by a distracted driver. Distractions can include driving drowsy, using a cell phone and/or text messaging while driving, eating and drinking while driving, adjusting the radio/CD player, even passenger “horseplay.” Remember that Colorado has a new law that bans cell phone use by teen drivers under age 18.
· Follow the speed limits. The chance of death or serious injury doubles for every ten miles per hour over 50 mph that a vehicle travels.

· Never drive while impaired. Eight young people die every day in the U.S. in alcohol-related crashes. Alcohol is involved in about one-third of fatal crashes involving 16-19-year-old drivers. Colorado has a ZERO TOLERANCE law for minor drivers.

In addition to talking with your teen about safe driving, build your relationship with them by listening to their concerns and questions.  Ask them to join you in signing a “Parent-Teen Driving Contract.”  When information on the law, family rules, and consequences are written and agreed upon by parents and teens, young drivers are less likely to be involved in risky driving situations.  You can download a contract at www.coteendriver.com.  This Web site also contains information for parents and teens on teen driving restrictions in Colorado, helpful tips, and it may even provide a little parental “sleep insurance” knowing that you’re making your child a safer driver. 
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