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Teaching Your Teen To Drive 
 
 
 
Welcome! We are glad that you have chosen this guide to help teach your teen to 
drive!  
 
The purpose of this guide is to assist you, the parent or guardian of teenagers. It is 
our hope that with the assistance of this guide, teaching your teen to drive will be a 
rewarding and safe experience. We recommend that you use this guide as a 
supplement to the Colorado Driver Handbook. 
 
As you are probably aware by now, it is Colorado law that you spend 50 hours (10 
of which must be at night) in the car with your teenager before they may reach the 
next stage of the Graduated Driver’s License; applying for a license. This guide 
has a complete description of the Colorado Graduated Drivers License Law. 
 
Teen driving is risky. This guide offers some statistics related to teen driving that 
are specific to Colorado. We want to help decrease the chance that your teen will 
be involved in a crash by offering you tools, tips, lesson plans, and a driving guide 
to use while you are teaching your teen to drive. If you find that you need more 
information or tools than are included here, please feel free to use the contact 
information located at the end of this guide. 

 
Parents need to play a key role in teaching teens to drive. According to the 
National Institute of Mental Health, the teenage brain is not yet fully developed and 
will not be until approximately age 25.  Because of this, teenagers have a lower 
perception of risks which increase with age. For example, teens think “It won’t 
happen to me”, even though they know that teen driving is risky. It is up to parents 
to put restrictions on the risky behaviors associated with driving. This is important 
in decreasing fatalities, injuries, and traffic violations. 
 
Lastly, we will offer resources that you may use to get more information. An 
example of a parent/teen driving agreement is located at the end of the guide. 
 
Good Luck and Drive Safe! 
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Colorado Laws for Drivers under Age 18: 

 
When can a teen get a learner’s permit? 

Minimum age 15, if the teen has completed and passed the classroom portion of a 
state-approved driver’s education course within 6 months of applying for their permit. 

Minimum age 15 ½ after successfully completing a 4-hour driver awareness course. 

Minimum age 16 if none of the above. 

All new drivers under age 18 require a parent/legal guardian’s signed affidavit to obtain 
a learner’s permit. 

 

How to get a permit:  
Visit: http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/wrap.asp?incl=faqdrli/faqdrli15 for more 
information from the Colorado Department of Revenue. 

 
What does a teen under 18 with a learner’s permit need to do before applying 
for a driver’s license? 

Hold a learner’s permit for at least one year. 

50 logged hours of driving time with a responsible, licensed adult prior to obtaining a 
license. 10 of those supervised hours must be nighttime driving. 

A teen under age 16 with a learner's permit may not drive with anyone except their 
driving instructor, parent, or legal guardian. 

Teens age 16 and older with learners’ permits may drive with any licensed driver 21 
years of age and older. 

Any minor issued a driver’s education permit between the ages of 15 years and 15 
years, 6 months must complete 6 hours behind-the-wheel training prior to applying for 
their driver’s license.  

No cell phones while driving.  

 
What rules apply to licensed drivers under age 18? 

No passengers under age 21 until the driver holds a valid driver’s license for at least six 
months (siblings and passengers with medical emergencies excepted). 

No more than one passenger under age 21 until the driver holds a valid driver’s license 
for at least one year (siblings and passengers with medical emergencies excepted).  

No more than one passenger in the front seat of a vehicle driven by a person under 
age 17, and the number of passengers in the back seat must not exceed the number of 
seat belts. All passengers with drivers under seventeen must wear seatbelts. 

No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. until the driver holds a valid driver’s license for 
at least one year, unless accompanied by a parent/legal guardian. 
Exceptions: 

o Driving to a school or school-authorized activity and the school does not provide 
transportation (signed statement from school required). 
o Driving to/from work (signed statement from employer required). 
o Medical emergency 
o Driver is an emancipated minor 

No drinking and driving 
Obey all traffic laws 
Carry proof of insurance 

** New ** Beginning December 1, 2009 – No one under the age of 18 may use a cellular 
device while operating a motor vehicle *** 
 
 

 

http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/wrap.asp?incl=faqdrli/faqdrli15
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Colorado Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) 
(Colorado Teen Driving Law) 

 
What’s New? 
 
The Governor and Colorado Legislators have added important features to Colorado’s 
graduated licensing laws by limiting the number of young passengers a new teen driver may 
carry, having a curfew through the first year of a new driver’s license, and prohibiting cell 
phone use while driving with a learner’s permit. Each of these factors limits dangerous 
situations and distractions, allowing new teen drivers to focus on the task at hand:  Driving 
safely between point A and point B. 
 

Background 
 
Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) laws are designed to give young, novice drivers more 
experience behind the wheel and limit driving in high-risk situations while they are in the 
learning stages. States began enacting GDL laws in the 1990s. According to the Insurance 
Institute for Highway Safety, effective GDL laws require a learner’s permit stage of at least six 
months with 30-50 hours of supervised driving, and an intermediate stage with limits on night 
driving and passenger restrictions. 
 
Colorado’s graduated driver’s licensing went into effect July 1, 1999. The law required teens to 
drive supervised a minimum of six months with their instructional permits, log 50 hours of 
driving time with parents or driving instructors (including 10 nighttime hours), no driving for 
drivers under age 17 between midnight and 5 a.m., and young licensed drivers had to limit 
passengers to the number of seatbelts in the car. 
 
In 2004, Colorado strengthened the law by raising the minimum learner’s permit age to 16 
unless a driver takes a driver’s education course at age 15, or passes 4-hour driver awareness 
course at 15 years 6 months. The new law also lengthened the permit period to 
12 months. 

 
Teen driving statistics 
 

In 2004, 96 16-20 year-olds died on Colorado roadways; Of those, 44 were 16-17 
years old.1 

In 2004, 65.6% of Colorado teens killed in car crashes did not wear seat belts. 1 

In 2004, nearly 80% of teen passengers who died in car crashes were riding with 
teen drivers. 1 

As of December 31, 2004, there were 218,581 licensed teen drivers ages 16-20 in 
Colorado. Teen drivers represent nearly seven percent of the licensed drivers in 
Colorado. 1 

16 year-olds have higher crash rates than drivers of any other age, and are three 
times more likely to die in motor vehicle crashes than other drivers. 2 

A study released by the National Institute of Health in 2005 found that the part of the 
brain that controls risk-taking and impulsive behavior is not fully developed until age 
25. 

In Grand Junction for 2004, teen drivers represented 21% of crashes, the highest 
number of crashes for the city. 

3 

1) Colorado Dept. of Transportation 2) U.S. Dept. of Transportation 3) City of Grand Junction 
 

For more information, please visit http://www.coteendriver.com  

http://www.coteendriver.com/
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Risks of Teen Driving 
 
 

The following statistics show the top six driving risk factors for teenagers while 
driving. Many of these issues are addressed with the Colorado Graduated Drivers 
License (GDL) Law, and it is important that you, the parent/guardian, reinforce 
them with your teenager.  
 

 Failure to wear a seat belt 
o Seat belts reduce the risk of death by 50% 
o Wearing a seat belt is Colorado Law 

 Inattentiveness 
o Cell Phones, Stereos, etc. cause teens to be inattentive 
o Distractions are the most common contributing factor in multiple 

vehicle crashes 
 Excessive Speed 

o Speed is the most common contributing factor in single vehicle 
crashes 

o Remember, your teen is watching and modeling after your driving 
behaviors, so obey the speed limit! 

 Fatigue 
o A person who has been awake for 24 hours experiences impairment 

nearly equal to a blood alcohol concentration of 0.10% 
o Teens often do not get enough sleep 

 Driving at Night 
o Teens are three times more likely to be involved in a fatal car crash 

at night than during the day 
o Colorado GDL restricts the nighttime driving of teenagers 

 Driving with Other Teens 
o The presence of teen passengers strongly increases the risk of 

crashing. The more passengers, the greater the risk 
o Driving with passengers is restricted by Colorado GDL 

 
 
 
 
Keep in mind that this is not an exhaustive list of teen driving risks. Know what 
your teen is doing, how they are driving, where they are, and who they are with. 
Set limits and have expectations of your new driver. The family of the teen driver is 
in the best position to have a sustained effect on minimizing risks faced by 
inexperienced drivers and encouraging responsible behavior.  

 



 6 

Tips for the Road 
 

Driving is a complex skill that takes years to master. Skills improve with time and 
practice. Think of it like learning a sport or how to play a musical instrument in that 
it takes time and practice. However, an error behind the wheel can have negative 
and even deadly consequences. Parents who are teaching their teen to drive need 
to be patient – think back to when you were learning to drive. This section of the 
guide will offer tips for parents on how to teach your teen. 
 
Learning a new skill 
 
As with any person new to any task, there are certain tendencies about which you 
should be aware.  
 
Beginning drivers may become so anxious and grip the steering wheel so hard that 
they cannot steer properly. 
 
Due to nervousness and inexperience, new drivers often position their hands 
incorrectly on the steering wheel and forget that a car with an automatic 
transmission “creeps” while in drive or reverse. Teens have a tendency to forget 
which way the car wheels are pointed when pulling out of a parking space or when 
stopped in traffic. They commonly make errors to the right, since that side of the 
car is farther away from them than the left side.   
 
Please be patient as your teen is learning the basics of driving. Do not take them 
out where there is a lot of traffic or many obstacles. We recommend beginning on 
a quiet street or in an empty parking lot. If possible, your teen should learn the 
basics of driving in a car with an automatic transmission and progress to a manual 
transmission after they have mastered the basics. 

 
Parenting Tips for In the Car 
 

 Enjoy this experience! Teaching your teen to drive can be a great bonding 
experience. We recommend that you focus on driving skills, not issues that 
may be happening within your family. 

 When you are doing the driving, be sure to set a good example! Your teen 
will be watching and will model after how you drive. Make certain that you 
come to a complete stop at stop signs, do not speed, slow for yellow lights, 
etc.  

 Wear your seat belt and require your teen to do so as well.  
 Keep the radio/stereo turned off during practice sessions. 
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Tips for the Road Continued… 

 
Language 
 

 Be clear and concise when giving your teen directions. 
 When giving your teen feedback, it should be precise and immediate.  

Remember to praise those things your teen has done correctly! 
 The term “right” should be used only for the direction of a turn. 
 Be sure to give your teen enough notice when you want them to change 

lanes, make a turn, or come to a stop. When giving directions to your teen, 
tell them “where” first, and then give them the “action” you would like them 
to perform. For example, say “At the next light, turn right” instead of “Turn 
right at the next light.” Telling an inexperienced teenager to “stop” will cause 
them to stop suddenly. Instead say “Bring the car to a stop” or “At the 
intersection, slowly bring the car to a stop.” 

 
Other Tips  
                                                

 Follow Colorado law by making sure that your teen has a driver’s permit, 
and that they have the proper insurance card and vehicle registration with 
them when they drive.  

 Hands should be placed at 8 and 4 o’clock on the steering wheel to avoid 
injury from a deployed air bag.  

 When you are in the passenger seat, practice being able to shift or place 
your hand on the steering wheel with your left hand. It may also be helpful to 
use the mirror on the sun visor of the passenger seat as a rear view mirror.  

 If your teen is in real trouble, shift the car out of gear quickly, take the wheel, 
and guide the vehicle safely to the side.  

 Remind your teen that the driver doesn’t always have to have a foot on the 
gas pedal for the vehicle to move. This “creep” can help the driver move 
slowly through traffic, get in and out of parking spaces, start from a dead 
stop, or drive through tight quarters. 

 Play the “what if” game with your teen. Give them scenarios and ask them 
what they would do.  

 Encourage your teen to say out loud what his/her next move will be. For 
example, when your teen changes speed, your child may say: “Red light, 
mirror, ease foot off of accelerator and brake.”  

 Eventually, expose your teen to different driving conditions including wet 
roads, snow, highways, rural, and metro. Practice on roads unfamiliar to the 
teen. 

 Have patience, praise your teen, and instead of criticizing, offer a 
better way! 
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Driving in Adverse Conditions 
 

This section goes into driving in adverse conditions such as glare, snow, ice, 
wind, rain, etc. The most important tip for driving in any adverse weather 
condition is to drive SLOWLY! Most car crashes are caused by driving too fast 
for conditions. 
 
It is important that your teenager practice driving in adverse conditions in the 
permit stage of graduated licensing. This way, when they are on their own, they 
will have had prior experience and will not be surprised, scared, or frustrated. 
 
Here are some more tips from the experts at the Colorado Department of 
Transportation: 
 

 Use your low-beam headlights in bad weather, especially where snow is 
falling heavily or blowing 

 Do not use your cruise control in slippery road conditions 
 Remove ice and snow from windows, mirrors, and vehicle lights, both 

front and rear, as often as necessary 
 Always wear your seat belt 
 Leave extra room between your vehicle and the one ahead of you in 

poor visibility and slippery conditions 
 Your safest place in bad weather is a safe distance behind a snowplow, 

where you will find the clearest road and the best traction 
 If possible, avoid driving at all in bad weather conditions 
 A road that has been treated with liquid de-icer may be wet and slippery 

 
 

 
 

For more information, download the “Slick Tips” brochure at: 
http://www.dot.state.co.us/Publications/Brochures/NewSlickTips.pdf  
 
Information on driving in bad weather is also located in the Colorado Driver 
Handbook. 

http://www.dot.state.co.us/Publications/Brochures/NewSlickTips.pdf
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Lesson Plans 
 

The following section of this guide is to give you an idea of how to spend the 
required 50 hours (10 at night) with your teenager in an effective, orderly manner. 
Please remember that this is only a guide! Feel free to modify if your teenager is 
advanced in some areas, or if your teen needs more help in a particular area 
please spend more time on that task before proceeding to new lesson plans.  
 
We have included 5 lesson plans that start out with very basic skills, which 
increase in complexity and speed. Each lesson plan varies in the amount of time 
that should be spent on the particular skills. Safety experts recommend spending 
30 to 60 minutes at a time teaching your teen to drive. Some of the lesson plans 
suggest spending a total of 15-20 hours total on driving skills, and this should be 
broken down to 10-15 sessions.   
 
We will not be going into specifics on every driving skill. Again, utilize the Colorado 
Driver Handbook or resources found at the end of this guide if you find that you 
need more information on a specific skill.  
( http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-MV/RMV/1196845313325 ) 
 
A checklist will follow each lesson plan to help you organize areas that your teen 
may need more time to practice or to gain confidence. 
 
Prepare where you and your teen will go ahead of time. For example, when 
practicing with multiple turn lanes, think about where these intersections are in 
your area before heading out. This is a good system to reduce frustration during 
your practice sessions. You may want to practice the skills yourself first before 
demonstrating them to your teen. 
 
Our goal is to help you organize your practice sessions and to make this time more 
efficient. 
 
 

http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-MV/RMV/1196845313325


 10 

Lesson Plan #1 
 

Getting Ready/Basic Actions 
(2-3 Hours Total Time)                

     
This lesson plan should be conducted in a large, level, and quiet parking lot. Speed 
during this lesson plan should be at or below 15mph.  
 
Pre-Entry Check 

 Before getting into the vehicle, the teen should check for obstacles such as 
small children and pets, broken glass, fluid leaks, etc. 

 Check tire pressure, engine oil, and other fluid levels – check your vehicle 
owner’s manual for details 

 
Locating Gauges 

 Enter the vehicle and show your teen all of the gauges and controls of your 
vehicle 

 Explain how to start the vehicle (e.g., transmission should be in park) - Start 
the vehicle 

 Have your teen operate all gauges and controls; explaining their purpose 
and when they should be used 

 
Adjusting everything to your body 

 After getting into the vehicle, teach your teen how to adjust the seat, the 
steering wheel, side view mirrors, and rear view mirror 

 It is safest to sit 10 inches away from the steering wheel/airbag – this can be 
measured by placing a piece of paper between the driver and the airbag. In 
addition, the top of the steering wheel should be no higher than the top of 
the driver’s shoulders. 

 Feet should be able to reach pedals with ease 
 Mirrors should be adjusted to view entire rear window, reduce glare, and 

reduce size of blind spot 
 
Activity Idea – “Learning About Blind Spots”:  While your teen is sitting in the 
driver’s seat with the engine off, get out of the car and stand close to the front 
bumper facing your teen. Begin taking steps backward and ask your teen to tap the 
horn when he or she can see your feet. Place a cone or cup in that spot. This is 
area in front of the vehicle that cannot be seen when looking out of the windshield. 
Ask the driver to use the inside mirror and/or to look over the right shoulder, and 
repeat this process to the rear of the vehicle. Walk backwards from the passenger 
doors on the left and right sides of the vehicle and place cups or cones to mark the 
side areas visible to the driver.  
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Lesson Plan #1 Continued… 
 

Seat Belt/Head Restraint 
 

 The head restraint (padding behind the head) should be adjusted middle of 
the back of the head for safest position during a crash 

 Lap and shoulder belts should always be worn and the driver should remind 
all passengers to buckle-up 

 
Moving the vehicle – Forward/ Turning/Backward/ Steering/Stopping 
 

 First, practice shifting through all of the gears with foot on the brake 
 Shift to Drive, and practice moving to different points in the parking lot 
 Focus should be on smooth acceleration and braking  
 

Parenting Tip: When you want your teen to come to a smooth stop, say “Slow to a 
stop” instead of “Stop”, which will cause the teen to suddenly and forcefully slam 
on the brakes. 

 
 At this point, your teen should not be going any faster than 10-15 mph 

(speeds will increase gradually with each lesson plan) 
 Now, practice turning – start with wide smooth turns  
 Your teen should be looking both ways, in all mirrors, signaling, and should 

be communicating to you what his/her next move will be 
 Once going forward and turning become easier for your teen, practice going 

in reverse a short distance. Remind the teen to use mirrors and to look over 
his/her shoulder. Ensure that the area behind the vehicle is clear, as going 
in reverse can be confusing at first! 

 Give your teen a specific parking space to back into. With practice, they 
should be able to fit within the painted lines of the space. 

 Moving the vehicle forward, turning, and going in reverse require having 
different hand positions on the steering wheel, and even having only one 
hand on the wheel. These will all be new experiences to the teen and will 
require practice. 

 
Turning the vehicle off/Securing the Vehicle 
 

 Place the car in Park, turn off lights if necessary 
 Instruct the teen on securing your vehicle 

 

Activity Idea – “Who’s the Teacher?”:  After instructing your teen on “Getting 
Ready” to drive, have them practice by telling you what to do!   The teen’s job is to 
instruct you, step-by-step, about what to do to get started.  For example, after they 
tell you to “Check behind the vehicle for obstacles, look for fluid leaks, etc.,”   get 
into the driver’s seat with your young driver sitting on the passenger side.  They 
then instruct you how to check mirrors, gauges, put on seatbelt, etc. 
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Checklist for Lesson Plan #1 
 

Getting Ready/Basic Actions 
 

Bring this checklist with you on your practice session. Take notes and make 
comments to discuss with your teenager! 

 
Skill Pass Needs 

Practice 
Comments 

Pre-Entry Check    

Locating Gauges    

Gauge Function    

Adjusting 

seat/head restraint 

   

Adjusting mirrors    

Wears seat belt    

Moving forward    

Turning    

Backing    

Steering    

Stopping    

Turning vehicle off    

Securing Vehicle    

 
 

Sample Practice Areas in Mesa County – Lesson Plan #1 
 

 Any large, quiet, and mostly empty parking lot will do! 
 Shopping centers at slow times or in an unused area of the lot 
 Church parking lots on days and times without activities 
 School parking lots on weekends or days without school or school activities 
 Mesa County Fairgrounds parking area at times/days without activities 
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Lesson Plan #2 
 

Parking the Car/Driving in Familiar and Light Traffic Areas 
(8-10 Hours Total Time)    

 

         
 

This lesson should be conducted in your neighborhood or areas close to where 
your teen attends school. These roadways should be familiar to your teen. The 
speed limit during this lesson plan should not exceed 35 mph. 
 
Review info from Lesson Plan #1 – All information from the first lesson plan should 
be fresh as it will all be utilized in this plan and all future lesson plans. Please do 
not proceed with Lesson Plan #2 until you are comfortable with your teen’s ability 
in Lesson Plan #1. 
 
Parent and Teen should review the information in the Colorado Driver Handbook 
related to traffic signals, traffic signs, pavement markings, lane controls, right of 
way, and speed.  
 
Visual Search 

 Scanning is an important skill to learn at this point 
 

Activity Idea: Have your teen ride in the passenger side while you drive. Encourage 
your son/daughter to look in all mirrors, paying attention to motion on sidewalks, 
crosswalks, noticing what other cars are doing, and looking for “hidden” motions, 
such as a dog running out of a bush. Again, have your teen say aloud what they 
are noticing, and what their actions are. Once you are confident that your teen 
understands scanning, they can practice behind the wheel.  

 
 The teen should be scanning about 15-20 seconds ahead of where they are 

 
Entering Traffic 
 

During this plan, have your teen recheck the traffic in all directions. Be aware that 
in residential areas about 90% of drivers fail to obey stop signs. 
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Lesson Plan #2 Continued… 

 
 From side of street, teen will need to signal, and look for traffic, bicycles, 

pedestrians, children, and animals in mirrors and over shoulder. Your teen 
should be accelerating smoothly 

 From stop sign, teen should signal if necessary, follow right of way, and 
accelerate gradually to speed at or below speed limit, or a speed that the 
teen will feel most comfortable   

 
With residential driving comes the opportunity for your teen to learn to always be 
on the lookout for pedestrians, bicycles, children, and animals. Review this 
information in the Colorado Driver Handbook. Yield to all! 

 
 When entering traffic from a turn, signal, be aware of traffic, and control the 

steering wheel in a smooth manner. For new drivers, selecting a gap in 
traffic will take practice. After the turn, smoothly let the steering wheel 
recover. 

 Have student turn into closest lane 
 Practice both Left and Right turns  
 When you are ready for your teen to leave traffic, they should signal, 

decelerate, and smoothly pull to the side.  
 Smooth stopping is key to all driving  
 Parking at an angled space – Teen should signal, use all mirrors, have one 

hand on the steering wheel and should brake and steer in a smooth, 
controlled manner 

 Parking on side of street involves many of the skills from other types of 
parking. Your teen may have trouble judging the distance from the curb or 
other vehicles. Practicing with cones or cups might be easier at first. 

 Roundabouts – Teen should signal into and out of the roundabout. Discuss 
how roundabouts work before heading into one with your teen behind the 
wheel 
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Checklist for Lesson Plan #2 
 

Parking the Car/Driving in Familiar and Light Traffic Areas 
 

Bring this checklist with you on your practice session. Take notes and make 
comments to discuss with your teenager! 
 
 

Skill Pass Needs 
Practice 

Comments 

Scanning    

Entering Traffic    

Noticing 

Pedestrians/Bicycles/ 

Children and Animals 

   

Entering Traffic from a 

turn 

   

Left turns    

Right turns    

Leaving traffic    

Smooth stopping    

Parking – angled space    

Parking – side of street    

Roundabouts    

Speeds up to 35 mph    

 
Sample Practice Areas in Mesa County – Lesson Plan #2 

 
 This lesson plan should take place close to your home 
 Practice in areas familiar to you and your teen 
 Practice around the area where your teen attends school 
 Be sure to plan your route ahead of time to ensure that you do not 

encounter roads that may have high speed limits or that involve complex 
skills! 
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Lesson Plan #3 
 

Increased Traffic and Unfamiliar Roads/Parallel Parking 
(15-17 Hours Total Time) 

 

    
 

Review information from Lesson Plan #1 and #2 
 
Please do not proceed until skills from previous plans have been mastered. 
 
At this point, your teen should be fairly comfortable behind the wheel. It is now time 
to go into areas with more traffic and even roads unfamiliar to your teen. Speed 
during this lesson plan should not exceed 50 mph. Plan your route ahead of time! 
 

 Backing and Parking require some similar skills. Your teen should always 
signal, utilize all mirrors in the vehicle, and should look over his/her shoulder 
for both parking and backing.  

 Practice both backing straight and backing and turning 
 When your teen has parked in a space, have them get out of the car to 

judge how well they did. They should be 3-6 inches from the curb or parking 
space lines. Have them practice parking in a straight space, angled spaces, 
on side streets and parallel parking. 

 Parallel parking can be a challenging maneuver for new drivers. At first, 
practice this skill without obstacles (cars) close by. Use cups or cones to 
determine parking area for the first few tries. Be sure to practice both 
entering and exiting parking spaces. 

 Turning is also an important skill to master as a new driver. Different types 
of turns include: Turning right and left at busier intersections, multiple turn 
lanes, U-Turns, and turns with various turn signals (arrows, no arrows, etc.)  

 When you are ready for your teen to change lanes, talk to him/her about 
good reasons for changing lanes (destination, construction area, etc.). They 
should signal, look for a gap in traffic in mirror and over shoulder. 

 Maintaining higher speeds (35-50 mph) – This will be the fastest your teen 
has driven. They should be smooth and have control over the pedals and 
the steering wheel. 
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Lesson Plan #3 Continued… 

 
 

 Curving roads is another skill to practice. This usually requires braking and 
steering simultaneously. 

 Being passed can be frustrating! Talk to your teen about defensive driving 
and tell them to relax, being passed is okay. 

 
 

Activity Idea – “Critique other drivers”:  Find a safe place to park your car 
where you can watch traffic with your teen.  For example, a busy 
intersection such as Rimrock Drive & Highway 6 (Sam’s/Wal-Mart area) 
might be interesting.  In a 15 minute period, both you and your teen jot down 
driving errors you see.  Compare your lists and discuss what you observed. 
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Checklist for Lesson Plan #3 
 

Increased Traffic and Unfamiliar Roads/Parallel Parking 
 

Bring this checklist with you on your practice session. Take notes and make 
comments to discuss with your teenager! 
 
 

Skill Pass Needs 
Practice 

Comments 

Backing    

Backing and turning    

Parking – Parallel    

Turning – U-turn    

Turning – multiple turn 

lanes 

   

Turning – various    

Changing lanes    

Curving roads    

Being passed    

Speeds up to 50 mph    

 

Sample Practice Areas in Mesa County – Lesson Plan #3 
 

 This lesson plan should take you on a route that involves roads unfamiliar to 
your teenager 

 Practice backing, backing and turning, and parallel parking in a quiet, large, 
and flat parking lot – perhaps the location you used for the first lesson plan 

 Start with simple turns, and then head toward busy intersections with 
various turning lanes and signals 

 Remember – it is extremely important to include a large variety of skills and 
various locations to ensure your teen will be ready to drive on their own 

 Examples of streets specific to Mesa County where you may want to 
practice are: North Avenue, Patterson Road, Broadway, and Unaweep. You 
may want to make your session fun, and head to an area of the county 
where you normally don’t travel such as Loma, Mack, Orchard Mesa, and 
Palisade. Relax, and try to have some fun! 

 A great example of a curving road in Mesa County is the road (either 
entrance) to the Monument or up to Glade Park or up to the Grand Mesa. 
Also, these are examples of unfamiliar roads for your teenager. 
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Lesson Plan #4 
 

Expressway/Highway/Interstate Driving 
(10-12 Hours Total Time) 

 

     
 

Once again, be sure that skills and conditions from previous plans have been 
mastered before moving on! 
 
Plan your trips ahead of time! 
 
This lesson plan should be conducted on Interstates and Highways with speeds 
from 50 – 75 mph. Be sure to review lane and sign information in the Colorado 
Driver Handbook before heading for the interstate. 
 

 Entering the highway/interstate: Obey ramp speed limit, signal intent to 
enter, use mirror and look over shoulder for gap in traffic. Once on the 
roadway, maintain speed. Driving on a highway/interstate requires constant 
scanning. 

 

Colorado Left Lane Law: 42-4-1013 (1) - Passing Lane " A person shall not drive a 
motor vehicle in the passing lane of a highway if the speed limit is sixty-five miles 
per hour or more unless such person is passing other motor vehicles that are in a 
non-passing lane or turning left, or unless the volume of traffic does not permit the 
motor vehicle to safely merge into a non-passing lane." For more information, visit: 
http://www.csp.state.co.us/Upload/leftlanebrochure.pdf  

 
 Being Passed: Hopefully, your teen has been passed at this point on 

smaller roadways. Some tips for this are: Don’t panic, relax, and let them 
pass! 

 Passing: Again, talk to your teen about good reasons for passing someone 
(not out of frustration or anger); teach them to signal, check mirrors and 
blind spots. Use the headlights of the car you are passing as a guide in the 
rear view mirror to know it is safe to go back in the original lane. 

 Maintaining higher speeds (50-75 mph) – Teach your teen to have control 
over the brake, accelerator, and the steering wheel. Constant scanning and 
anticipation are key! 

 Exiting: Signal intent to exit, obey speed limit of exit ramp. Decrease speed 
immediately. 

http://www.csp.state.co.us/Upload/leftlanebrochure.pdf
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Checklist for Lesson Plan #4 
 

Expressway/Highway/Interstate Driving 
 
Bring this checklist with you on your practice session. Take notes and make 
comments to discuss with your teenager! 
 
 

Skill Pass Needs Practice Comments 

Entering    

Left lane law    

Being passed    

Passing    

Exiting    

Speeds up to 75 mph    

 

Sample Practice Areas in Mesa County – Lesson Plan #4 
 

 Fortunately for this lesson plan, Mesa County has many examples of 
highways and interstates. Interstate 70 (going either direction) would be a 
great place to practice. Also, the US 50 going toward Delta would be a 
good, low traffic road. 

 Remember, variety of experience, skill, and time of day is key! Practicing 
now will eliminate some frustration later. 
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Lesson Plan #5 
 

Driving in Complex Environments/Nighttime Driving 
(15-17 Hours Total Time) 

 
 

This lesson plan will include various skills not covered in previous plans. Nighttime 
driving should be addressed at this point, as you are required to spend at least 10 
of the 50 hours driving at night.  
 
Speed should be varied during this lesson plan, as well as conditions and roads. 
Focus should be on areas where your teen needs the most work. 
 
In environments and roadways that are complex, your teen should give their full 
attention and should be driving defensively with anticipation. It is important to 
practice in a variety of settings during the required 50 hours of dr 
 

 If you have not already discussed defensive driving, now is the time to do 
so. Talk about avoiding crashes by steering to avoid, braking to avoid, and 
constant scanning and anticipating what other drivers will do next. 

 As stated previously, the Colorado GDL Law requires that 10 of your 50 
hours of driving at night. Reduced visibility and greater following distance 
are two areas to discuss. 

 Limited visibility due to adverse weather conditions, glare, dusk, dawn, etc. 
are all types of conditions that your teen should practice with you in the car. 
Giving them a variety of experience will help to keep them safer when 
they’re on their own.  

 Bicycles/Pedestrians/Animals: Again, discuss these “obstacles” with your 
teen, and be sure they have had experience avoiding and watching out for 
everyone who is sharing the roadways. 

 Complex environments such as driving during rush hour, driving in 
construction zones, on one-way roads, school zones, and railroad crossings 
should be practiced during these 50 hours. Your teen will face these 
settings when they are on their own, ensure that they will have the skills to 
be successful and safe. 
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Checklist for Lesson Plan #5 
 

Driving in Complex Environments/Nighttime Driving 
 

Bring this checklist with you on your practice session. Take notes and make 
comments to discuss with your teenager! 
 
 

Skill Pass Needs 
Practice 

Comments 

Defensive driving    

Adverse weather    

Glare    

Dusk    

Dawn    

Rush hour    

Construction zones    

One-way roads    

School zones    

Railroad crossings    

Various speeds    

10 hours of 

nighttime driving 

   

 

Sample Practice Areas in Mesa County – Lesson Plan #5 
 

 This lesson plan should involve the most variety of all parts of driving 
 Pay particular attention to roads/environments that your teen has had a 

difficult time with so far, while also practicing on roads that your teen will use 
the most. 

 Downtown Grand Junction has plenty of one-way roads – again, be sure to 
plan ahead so at least you will know what to expect. 

 For practicing driving through a construction zone in Grand Junction, you 
may want to check out: 
http://www.gjcity.org/CityDeptWebPages/Administration/PublicInformation/PublicWorksProjects.htm 
for a list of projects in the city. This list is updated weekly.

http://www.gjcity.org/CityDeptWebPages/Administration/PublicInformation/PublicWorksProjects.htm
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Parent/Teen Driving Agreement 

 
 

A parent/teen driving agreement is a clear and concise way of agreeing to 
conditions and knowing what the consequences will be if they are not followed. 
It is also important to review the agreement on a periodic basis. 
 
Research shows that parents can have a great amount of impact on high-risk 
driving conditions of their teens such as number of passengers, excessive 
speed, nighttime driving, adverse weather, alcohol/drug use, and seat belt use. 
It is important to have a conversation with your teen regarding these issues and 
others that may be important for your family. Putting your conversation down in 
writing is a sure way to be able to follow through with consequences if 
inappropriate high-risk conditions arise. When parents place limits and 
restrictions on teen driving, teens will have fewer traffic violations, fewer 
crashes, and will be involved in less risky driving behaviors. 
 
When determining the rules you will implement with your teenager, keep in 
mind that your rules can be stricter than the GDL. For example, according to 
Colorado law, drivers under the age of 18 may not drive between midnight and 
5a.m. You as the parent may decide that you do not want your teen driving 
after 9 pm when they first get their license.  
 
The following pages offer an example of a parent/teen driving agreement and 
one for your use. We highly recommend utilizing this type of agreement after 
the permit stage of the GDL, when your teen receives his/her driver’s license.  
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Sample Parent/Teen Driving Agreement 
Teen Agreement    Parent Agreement 

I agree to abide by all restrictions that apply to 
my driver’s license.  

As a parent or guardian for my teen, I agree to: 

FAILURE TO WEAR A SEAT BELT 
Always wear my seat belt. 

Always insist passengers wear seat belts. 

 

Always wear my seat belt. 

 

INATTENTIVENESS 
Eat before I drive, pull over to use cell phone, set 

and leave the stereo. 

 

Avoid distractions while driving like eating, 

changing the radio, or using a cell phone. 

EXCESSIVE SPEED 
Respect other drivers, not drive aggressively & 

obey the speed limit 

 

Stay at or under the speed limit and drive 

defensively. 

FATIGUE 
Strive to maintain healthy lifestyle, including 

minimum of 8 hours of sleep per night. 

 
Provide nutritious meals and environment 

supportive of healthy living. 

DRIVING AT NIGHT 
Plan activities to be home before dark. 

 

 
Drive you to and from places after 9p.m. 

DRIVING WITH OTHER TEENS 
Show respect for my family by following rules 

about passengers 

 
Be available to help chauffeur when needed 

FAMILY RESPECT 
Only drive the family car when I have 

permission 

 
Listen and be a good learning-to-drive partner 

Consequences For: 
Moving Violation or Crash/Property Damage Teen pays any fines/insurance increases. No 

driving 2 weeks. 

Alcohol or other drug use Driving privileges taken away for 2 months 

Curfew Violation No passengers for one week 

Violating Passenger Restrictions Driving privileges taken away for 1 week 

Failure to call if you are more than 30 
minutes late 

No passengers for one week 

Other irresponsible behavior  

 
Teen Signature: ___Anna Smith___________________________   Date: _____________________ 

Parent Signature: ____Linda Smith_________________________   Date: _____________________ 

Date of original agreement:   __________  Review this agreement on: _____April 2007___________ 
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Parent/Teen Driving Agreement 
 

Teen Agreement    Parent Agreement 

 
Date of Initial Agreement:  

I agree to abide by all restrictions that apply 
to my driver’s license.  

As a parent or guardian for my teen, I agree 
to: 

  

  

  

  

  

Consequences For: 

Moving Violation or Crash/Property Damage  

Alcohol or other drug use  

Curfew Violation  

Violating Passenger Restrictions  

Failure to call if you are more than 30 
minutes late 

 

Other irresponsible behavior  

 
 
 

Teen Signature: _____________________________________   Date: _______ 
 
Parent Signature: ____________________________________   Date: _______ 
 
Review this agreement on: _______________ 
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Resource List for Parents of New Drivers in Colorado 
 

Mesa County Health Department 
(970) 683-6602  
 

Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) 
 http://www.coteendriver.com/  
 
Colorado Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division 
 http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/home.asp 
 Colorado Driver Handbook may be downloaded at: 
 http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/wrap.asp?incl=handbooks  
 
Alive at 25 – Colorado State Patrol Program 
 1-866-605-3900 
 http://www.alive-at-25.org/  
  
Mesa County Drivers License 
 222 S. 6th Grand Junction, Colorado  81501 
 (970) 248-7128 
 
Driving Instruction in Mesa County 
Note: We are not endorsing any program; this is listed for informational 
purposes only!!! 
 A-1 Driving School: (970) 523-7680 
 Drive Quest: (970)242-9312 
 Western Slope Driving Institute: (970)254-1294 

Colorado Driving Institute: (800) 604-6741   coloradodrivinginstitute.com 
National Drivers Training (800) 942-2050 nationaldrivertraining.com 
 

 
 
 

 

http://www.coloradodrivetime.com/
http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/home.asp
http://www.revenue.state.co.us/mv_dir/wrap.asp?incl=handbooks
http://www.alive-at-25.org/
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DRIVE TIME LOG SHEET 
Student’s Name _______________________Permit Number___________ 
DR 2324 (07/06/05) 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 
 
 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Date Verifier’s Initials Driving Time Night Driving 

Comments: 

Totals:  Driving Time 
Minimum of  
50 Hours 

Night Driving 
Minimum of  
10 Hours 

 
 
 

By signing below, I certify that the above total hours of driving experience is true and accurate. 
Signed ________________________________________________ Date _________________ 
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How did we do? 
 

Please take the time to answer a few questions regarding your use and opinion of 
this guide. This information is extremely valuable to us and to parents who will use 
this guide in the future. 
 
How did you receive this guide? 
 
 
What specific information in this guide was helpful? 
 
 
How could we make this information more helpful to parents? Is there information 
we should include in future printings? 
 
 
Should we continue to provide this guide to parents? 
 
 
Other comments? 
 
 
 
Thank you so much for your comments!  
 
Please mail/email/fax this page to: 
 
Mesa County Health Department 
Occupant Protection Program 
PO Box 20000 
Grand Junction, CO  81502-5033 
 
Fax: (970) 683-6621 
 
E-Mail:  TeenDriving@mesacounty.us 
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Virginia Department of Education 

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration 
Colorado Department of Transportation 
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Prepared by: Celeste Schoenthaler, MPH, CHES 
 
 

Mesa County Health Department 
Occupant Protection Program 

PO Box 20000 
Grand Junction, CO  81502-5033 

 
Fax: (970) 683-6621 

 
Phone: (970) 683-6624 

 
E-Mail: TeenDriving@mesacounty.us 
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